Poetry & Music recommendation of the day is:

SAINT ANIMAL

by Chase Twichell

 

Suddenly it was clear to me –

I was something I hadn’t been before.

It was as if the animal part of my being

had reached some kind of maturity that gave it

authority, and had begun to use it.

I thought about death for two years.

My animal flailed and tore at its cage

till I let it go.  I watched it

drift out into the easy eddies of twilight

and then veer off, not knowing me

I am not a bird but I’m inhabited by a spirit

that’s uplifting me.  It’s my animal, my saint

and solder, my flame of yearning,

come back to tell me

what it was like to be without me.

 

 

Leave a Reply

